University Staff Executive Committee

In October of 2013 UW-Madison took the historic step of holding a first of its kind election to create a shared governance body for university staff.

The ongoing responsibilities of these elected representatives will include: directly engaging with decision makers, advising the Chancellor on a wide range of policies, and recommending appointments to other campus advisory and search and screen committees.

In addition to the Executive Committee, the University Staff Congress, a larger representative body, makes the university staff voice even stronger.

Shared governance attempts to combine maximum participation in decision making with clear accountability. This gives voice to concerns common to all constituencies as well as issues unique to specific groups.

If you wish to engage the Committee with your thoughts and ideas, or to express your interest in serving as a university staff representative on a campus advisory committee, please contact us. The university has committed to working with employees to adjust schedules so that everyone will be able to participate in shared governance business within their scheduled work hours.

Meetings of the Executive Committee are open for the public to observe, and meeting agendas and minutes are accessible through the links on this site.


Russell Kutz (Chair)

Mary Czynszak-Lyne

John Newton

John Whitesel

Linda Meinholz

Terry Fritter

Tricia Droes

Ron Pond

Nancy Hilmanowski

More Information about USEC